RSS Feed

Marfy 1877 Plaid Coat

Here’s the pattern

F1877

My coat isn’t finished yet. It needs to have the rest of the top stitching hand done, the lining fitted and installed and the back vent and hems done.

But I promised pictures so there it is so far:

FULL FRONT

COAT BACK

I made a couple of dresses to go with it earlier this month. I used a Sandra Betzina shoulder princess dress pattern for knits but it is no longer available so there’s nothing urgent in getting it reviewed.

RED DRESS CAMEL DRESS

The collar is made to stand up but is drafted well and does cover the collar stand nicely

COLLAR SIDE

Hope this is done before Spring! I’ve already worn last spring’s yellow coat

done!

just to celebrate the sunshine!!!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

20 responses »

  1. I love the cut of that plaid coat. You did some serious plaid-matching, especially in the saddle shoulder. Beautiful. Your last year’s yellow coat is TO.DIE.FOR. Plus you have gorgeous hair.

    Reply
  2. That coat is looking fine and the plaid matching is TDF!!

    Reply
  3. Yowza! long live the orange plaid! It’s brilliant; love the matching and topstitching.

    Reply
  4. Wow! Your plaid coat is amazing especially since its a Marfy! And your yellow one just makes me smile!

    Reply
  5. Congrats on your new Marfy coat, impeccable plaid matching and the colours suits you wll. Great hair colour too.

    Reply
  6. That is GORGEOUS! I love the colors on you. Send some springtime weather up here, would you please?

    Reply
  7. Your jacket is “beautiful” and I love the fabric and colors. The dresses you made also look perfect for this jacket.
    and I love the yellow jacket 🙂

    (Your hair grows so fast 🙂 you look great!)

    Reply
  8. Beautiful. You will enjoy wearing this coat, finish it soon. (hoping for some sunshine here)

    Reply
  9. What a great coat . Your work is terrific.

    Reply
  10. Mary Beth, these are fabulous! What work on that plaid. I am sure I’m going to need your support as I work through my first Marfy coat pattern. Mind if I call on you for support?

    Reply
  11. Mary Beth I L-O-V-E the big topstitching! I think it would look great carried down the front. Beautiful!

    Reply
  12. I love that orange plaid!! That is one snappy coat and the back is amazing.

    (Also, so far we’re settling in well with Cricket and hopefully our wierd experience with the shelter has caused some of the board members– who we happened to know, without knowing it– to shake things up a little over there. I hate to see good animals in kennels when they could be in a nice house! So I think things are looking up there.)

    Reply
  13. How pretty – I just love that plaid!! The yellow one is awesome also!

    Reply
  14. Oh, I’m loving this coat! The bright plaid is wonderful and so nice compared to all the white, grey and black I’m seeing right now.

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Eyes on the Plaid « The Stitchery

  16. the plaid matching is the best i have seen – it is superb. the coat looks lovely – when hemming you will follow along a line of the plaid?
    ruth

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

