RSS Feed

Shoot

I never thought I’d write about shooting and sewing, but here it is. I just got a call that the camera is fixed and is due to return to me within 3 to 4 days but sadly, this is not a post about shooting a photo, it’s about shooting guns.

Behind The Stitchery is land that 50-60 years ago used to be a farm and is now crisscrossed by electric and sewer line easements. In fact, The Stitchery was carved out of this land and it’s maybe 50′ away from my back porch. What is left back there now is wild, overgrown woods and ancient trees now, all scrubby and dark but full of beautiful flowers left over from the folks that lived there long ago in this house that is half caved in.

Abandoned in The Woods

Last Spring (April 2009) I took some photos of the lovely blooms and put them in a Flikr album here

And while I was shooting the pastoral woodland scenes a startling thing happened: an American Black Vulture flew out of the attic window of the old house next to which I was standing. Oh my, it scared me! It’s wing span was close to 5 feet.

Since then I have watched more and more of these birds nest in the trees at night and fought off the feeling of impending doom, telling myself, “They’re just birds, for goodness sake, not harbingers of evil.”

Now, at roosting time when the sun goes down the sky is black with these birds, during the day every tree is covered with black hulks, their shadows crisscross the front lawn as they relentlessly search for hapless rodents.

Today the city codes enforcer came today to tell me his plans. Every evening for the next 10 days a team of men with shotguns will come to my driveway, park, and go to the back yard where they will start shooting into the air. If that doesn’t scare off the birds then they will try to kill them off.

You see, the State officials have said that once these critters get settled into an area they are difficult to get rid of and they are dirty. The woods now is covered in white bird droppings. Bad diseases, like histoplasmosis, are possible. We’re a population of old farmers and everyone knows you don’t want to clean out an old chicken coop for fear of this dreaded disease. My Step-Dad almost died of it once.

So these men will have shot guns and they will mean business.

Hey, I don’t love all these birds, I hope they go away FAST

I and the dogs will go to the house early of an evening for the next few weeks. I can’t imagine what all this will mean for us. I don’t think these men will go into the woods, I think they’d be scared to for fear of getting sick. I think they will line my back yard and aim into the air.

Will The Stitchery be safe for us to use anymore??? I don’t know WHAT this means for my sewing sanctuary. I’m just glad I didn’t turn this into a rental and have tenants with children that might have played in the woods. Oh man.

It turns out that the birds were harbingers of evil after all!!!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. WOW…sounds like something from a scary movie. Hope all goes well and they just leave..quickly…and that this doesn’t interfere with your daily life,and routine.

    Reply
  2. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they scare them off and they don’t come back. I didn’t realize buzzards roosted in large groups like that. That would creep me out, and I don’t creep out easily.

    Reply
  3. Oh my goodness! I hope the shots scare them away fast – and for good.

    Reply
  4. Ew, those things give me the creeps! You’ll be well rid of them soon, I hope.

    Reply
  5. Now I get it. You are making a horror film!

    Reply
  6. Wow! Well, it sounds like this is being done for the best. Stay out of the way!

    Reply
  7. Stay inside for the next 10 days. You know the saying, “what goes up must come down” and I don’t mean dead birds!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

