RSS Feed

Bothering Birds: Nuisance Control

I arrived at The Stitchery today and found no birds in the trees. Whew!

So, I’m reinforcing the raglan sleeve seams in the coat’s lining with some lovely straight waistband tape that Els sent me a few years ago. It is straight tape sewn on top of a biased edge so the edge can be folded into the interior of a seam quite nicely. I believe she uses it for waistband stays. It’s working perfectly for the raglan armscye.

Decided to take a break to go visit my neighbor, Mr O, who is responsible for alerting the authorities about our alarming bird population. I am fond of him, anyway. This man has passed his 50th wedding anniversary, to give you an estimate of his age. Let’s just say he’s been around enough to know how to live life well.

Around here polite manners are supreme and being fast witted is the way to get along. People will agree with you whether they really do or not rather than be rude, which is just a horrible thing. I always learn about verbal STYLE from Mr O.

Anyway, Mr O says the birds were on a hill higher up in the neighborhood this morning and that the city is going to order special guns that fire a kind of bomb that goes off up in the air. The codes enforcer hadn’t bothered to explain that to me. I guess he didn’t think I would want to know, and I didn’t ask, either. He told me “shotguns”, so I took him at his word. That’s why no shotgun shells in my yard.

Well, that makes sense: the buzzards are protected under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918 and there’s special State and Federal permits required.

So special guns. I guess I feel better. There’s something about men running amuck after dark with shotguns that had me more freaked out than the buzzards!!! Silly me.

I guess this would be similar to having too many pigeons, starlings, or geese, crows, or mergansers. Just the fact that they are Really Creepy Birds, buzzards, had me so freaked out I couldn’t see them as just bothering birds.

And old problem after all.

Back to being more sensible and getting my sewing done….

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I hope the birds get “shooed” away from your special hide-away, that you may sew without having o worry about the buzzards!

    Reply
  2. Ok so this seems a little less scary and more of a controlled project of sorts 🙂
    Hopefully it is just a minor distraction in your day and not a full blown out series. You sound better today about it, and that Mr O sounds like a pretty special neighbor!
    Have a great day sewing.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

