RSS Feed

Less-Stress Lining Technique in Pictures

Words have not been my friend lately. My goal was to avoid the stress of inner or outer corners in my coat lining. But, for the life of me, I couldn’t describe what I wanted or why.

I’ll try to do the Less-Stress lining in photos. My camera has finally come home just in the nick of time!

Here was the Gertrude Strickland starting point:

Strickland Fold moved over, underlap is minimal

My ending point was with the fold of the lining ease on a diagonal up to the center of the neckline facing:

Blue line is center back, Red dash shows the fold will be on the diagonal from edge to top of vent opening

Here’s WHY a diagonal:

000_1474 copy

Usual Fold for Lining

With the Strickland style the lining is folded over the meeting point of the under and over lap

Close up of Under Lap Point copy

and stitched to the vents so they meet folded edge to folded edge when lyin gflat

Folds will be stitched to vent edges

so there is no cut on vent

Lining Fold To Avoid Cut On

If the fold line goes straight up

Lining Fold To Avoid Cut On

the lining fold does not hit at center back

Neckline Offset copy

unless the lining ease is set on the diagonal.

Blue line is center back, Red dash shows the fold will be on the diagonal from edge to top of vent opening

That’s why.

It is the simplest, fastest vent lining I’ve ever done, once I could Just Do It.

I just can’t talk about it.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. Woohooo! You go Girrrl! That’s got to be one of the best descriptions I’ve ever seen of a “skewed” vent lining. Perfecto!

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the finished coat. The colors in the plaid are so vibrant and lively.

    Reply
  2. Is that back vent pulling any?

    Reply
    • Yeah, 3 years later I finally reply, Kathleen. My apologies! I have tested it well….

      After wearing this coat for the past 3 years I have found it to NOT pull in any way. This is the best lining I have ever had in a coat.

      But I wish the coat fabric were better: it’s threads break in just the simplest, non-stressful, walking down the street kind of wearing. I have never experienced that before in a fabric so the coat doesn’t get the kind of devoted use and wear all the work I put into it warrants.

      Reply
  3. Wow, how clever. Word almost not necessary, the pictures are so clear. Glad your camera is back!

    Reply
  4. I got it. It makes total sense to do it that way.

    Reply
  5. I know what you mean, but words escape me!

    Reply
  6. Just awesome!! Pics are telling everything , very detailed and nicely done .

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Orange Plaid Coat: Marfy 1877 Forties Adventure « The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

