RSS Feed

Not Gray: Fabric Knot

Posted on

I have not been buying fabric for the past couple of years and especially this past year but I did so want to use gray this Fall 2009 and Winter 09/10 that I went online and ordered some gray fabrics: one in a metallic jersey (top fabric in the stack) and another in a steel gray ribbed look woven. Neither fabric was what I had in mind so I kept my eye out for a stabilizing piece that would allow me to use the other two as complimentary fabrics for tops or dusters.

What I received was Not Gray:

Not Gray

Not Gray taken with a flash
Not Gray with a Flash

I thought I had found the perfect piece at The Fabric Club and bought the piece offered as 3 1/8 yard of Pendleton’s Charcoal Pure Wool Gabardine. I wanted Pendleton because it is needle ready and planned a skirt and jacket.

As you can see above, it was not gray. I wrote the company pointing out this fact and telling them I’d be returning the piece, asking what they’d like me to do to get a refund.

I never heard back from them and I decided that the fabric could be used after all, just not within the Gray Capsule.

Yesterday I forgot that the piece was Pendleton and processed it to reduce shrinkage. I folded the piece in half lengthwise and laid it out to dry. This morning I flipped over the piece to find fading on the outside fold and moth holes along the center fold

Moth Holes

You know, I rarely complain about vendors. If I am disappointed I go back to check the description and usually find that I have not paid close enough attention. I would never post about problems before I have given the vendor a chance to make it right with me.

Over the years I’ve had some good experiences with The Fabric Club purchases but this is an abomination. This vendor gets crossed off my list.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. So what color *is* it? In my monitor, it looks kind of an olivey brown w/o the flash, and slate gray with the flash.

    I would be pretty upset about the fade line/moth holes, too….

    Reply
  2. What in the world is the deal with holes and a fade line on new fabric? That is crazy.

    On my monitor those colors look just like Lisa described above.

    Oh, and I’m so sorry to hear the news about your dog. His face has exactly the same shape and expression as our dog…

    Reply
  3. That is really bad. Bad for you, bad for the company. I’m sorry that happened to you.

    Reply
  4. Gosh, I’ve bought from Fashion Club a lot and have been generally satisfied but I’d be furious, too.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

