RSS Feed

Becoming Silver, Just Not Yet

Posted on

Maybe I was bored, maybe the past winter was just too cold, but most likely I was just tired of the silver roots that showed up 2 weeks after my hair was colored each month. It seems my natural hair color is almost all white. I decided to bleach.

Now, this is a major first for me. I’ve never had lightened hair and the process was long and scary but I was impelled to go as light as possible. It was a Have To Thing. Have you ever had one of those? I was even prepared to cut it all off. Who knows what got into me…I don’t.

I asked for Gwen Stefani but got this:

Natural light
Blonde

It’s lightening up each time it’s washed but it’s still too golden in the camera’s flash.

Flash
Golden

Don’t want you all to get startled when I do finally finish a garment and model it for you!

What’s next? Who knows, I’m in to trying new things….

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

24 responses »

  1. I love it – you have the right skin tone to carry it off – just enough color in your skin but not too much yellow tone in the skin to compete with the hair = looks great!

    Reply
  2. I think it looks terrific! Well done you. A brave thing to do.

    Reply
  3. Ooooo, it looks good! And for what it’s worth, I have no idea how Gwen Stefani gets her hair so consistantly light, even with many many many expensive hours in the salon.

    You look good!

    Reply
  4. Wow! You look totally different but I like it. Will you get used to it or will you do something different?!

    Reply
  5. Very different, you do look good! Brave of you to try, and I would have no regrets if I were you.

    Reply
  6. I think you look fabulous! You have AMAZING skin, and the blond looks good with your coloring.

    Reply
  7. WOW….Pretty! I love it. It is a very nice soft look for you 🙂

    Reply
  8. I love the color with your skin tone-When your makeup still looks great with a new hair color, you know you’ve got a winner!

    I would suggest lightening the brow color a shade or so. Not a huge amount, just a wee bit.

    Reply
  9. Wow, that’s different. I think the silver will look great and bleaching it seems the best way to get there.

    Reply
  10. That’s a BIG change. I think you deserve a rest. I can’t wait to see how you style it with your fab wardrobe.

    Reply
  11. It looks fabulous – stay with it.

    Reply
  12. I think you make a very nice Gwen Stefani.

    I do know what you mean about going grey – I started doing that at 16, and have been getting more & more ever since.

    Having dyed it blonde (lots of attention with that), red and mahogany, as well as mouse brown (normal non-grey color) at various times, I’ve just let it all grow out…

    Now I highlight it purple, magenta, turquoise – whatever suits my fancy with the gels that eventually wash out.

    I “push the envelope” as it were, for a month or so, then it’s back to normal. Kinda fun!

    Reply
  13. i like this hair colour so much on you – you look younger

    Reply
  14. Fun – you look fab! I hear you about recoloring those greys.

    Reply
  15. Oh! Big change! I like it!!! I tease my hubby every time he leaves town for a trip that’s going to be more than just a couple of days,”One of these days you’ll come home and I’ll be blonde!” ‘Course, he knows I’d never do it…I wouldn’t want to deal with the roots! I’m all for goin’ natural…

    Reply
  16. Dear Mary Beth,
    I am glad I found your post. Some years ago, you posted a question whether the metal threads in the cotton-metallic fabrics could cause rust. May I ask if you’ve found the answer to it? Thank you.
    BTW, you look great with your new hair color.

    Reply
    • Hi Anh, glad you found me, too! I seem to remember from a long time ago that we’ve exchanged emails or had a couple of discussions somewhere. Hope you’re doing fine these days!

      No, I never got an answer from the people I asked that question of. However, I did the post because my girlfriend in The Netherlands said she had heard of the metals in fabrics causing rust. I don’t browse sewing boards anymore so I don’t know if the issue was ever addressed anywhere.

      Did you ever find rusting in your metallic blend fabrics?

      Reply
      • Thank you so much for writing me back.
        No, I have not found the answer to your questions either. I was looking for a site where I can buy the metal-cotton fabric so that I can try to wash it, but have not found a source for this kind of fabric. I will let you know once I find out. Hope you have a great weekend.

        Reply
        • Anh: my good friend Melody at FashionistaFabrics.com just posted 3 metallic linens. Check them out here. Melody’s customer service is great so she may be able to answer all your questions.

          Reply
    • Thank you so much, Mary Beth. Afraid that I am too picky. The metal fabric I saw on an artist we met at an art show a few months ago in Europe was not shiny. It’s kind of matte (matted?). I will let you know if I will ever find it. All the best!

      Reply
  17. Do your hair the way that makes you HAPPY; then change it again, if that pleases you. I think it looks great.
    Mine is almost grown out(length) and hope to have the same French Twist soon. I’m helpless with my hair.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

