RSS Feed

LaFred Patterns

Posted on

Fred Bloebaum’s patterns can now be found at SewingPatterns.com .  At the moment the patterns are available at a slight discount.

Like so many people I know these days, Fred is wagging an intense war against cancer with the help and support of a large circle of friends, family and medical practitioners and has closed her businesses.  It must feel good to her to have this pressure off her plate.  I met her once at a sewing conference and found her to be intensely devoted to helping her customers.  She’s a sweet lady and I am glad she was/is a part of my sewing life.

I have made up the Iris skirt and love the angled pockets and drape of the slight A-line.  I didn’t review it anywhere but it was a staple of my skirt wardrobe done in linen and linen/rayon mix.

Iris Skirt

I also have made only one iteration of the Helena Dress and still wear it.  Made in a stretchy, drapey matte jersey, it fit well through all my weight fluctuations. My PR review is HERE and I point you to it since it details all the adjustments I made to fit the pattern to my shape after incorporating the fitting information from the 4 other reviews.

There are lots of reviews of LaFred patterns at PR.  Just go to the advanced search function and point to LaFred to see them all.

Hmmmm, I know I have the Athena Blouse pattern, I wonder if I ever got around to ordering the Athena II?  I don’t see it at SewingPatterns.com so maybe it’s too late!  I will have to check the file cabinet…far too many patterns…far too little time.

There are a few other LaFred patterns in my totally huge stash that deserve exploration: the Daphne Pant, the Europa Blouse, the Maia Jacket.  Her instructions are really good and each pattern has an interesting sewing challenge.  Just a few style changes can bring the basic shapes up to date.

Do you have any favorites?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. I own the Maia Jacket and the Athena Blouse 1 – both purchased after taking two classes with Fred at a sewing expo – but have made neither. Like you, I have quite a pattern stash. Thanks for letting us know that her patterns can still be found on sewingpatterns.com!

    Reply
  2. I love the Cassandra skirt. It’s so lovely, and her instructions for mitering a corner are the best out there. I too was sorry to hear that she has cancer. She is a lovely, gracious lady. I met her once at a sewing expo and have thought the world of her since.

    Reply
  3. I’ve been following Fred’s progress since hearing about her illness on Stitcher’s Guild. I’ve met her several times at various ASG conferences and always enjoyed her classes and just chatting with her at her booth. Last year, I was fortunate enough to go on her Insider’s Tour of Santa Fe that was an added excursion at ASG–lovely guide and hostess, with exquisite taste.

    I have several of her patterns that I’ve been meaning to make up–Cassandra, Iris, Athena II, Daphne. Maybe I will kick myself into gear and actually make one or all of them–the samples were beautiful and deserve to come to life as clothing. They really are classic designs.

    Reply
  4. I love the Europa blouse. I’ve made it at least 4 times that I can name right now.. It is especially pretty done in a solid with some machine embroidery on the lower right of the top. One I made with a matching skirt and it’s a fantastic 2-pc. outfit. I also have made a couple Athena(1) tops, and have the Daphne pants pattern, but haven’t made it it. Love her patterns. My prayers are being winged to Fred for a full and speedy recovery!

    Reply
  5. I met her at a Sewing Conference too. I was impressed by her creativity and teaching skills. I have the Athena, not the II. It rapidly became a staple in my wardrobe. This is a pattern I’ve been using for at least 20 years and you know what? It’s still current. It truly is a classic. I too am saddened by LaFred’s battle with cancer and wish her well; and I too will be stocking up on those patterns I didn’t get around to buying and trying, before it’s too late.

    Reply
  6. I have a second comment to make. Today, I’m working on fitting a new pants pattern which needs sewing and ripping in that order, repeatedly. As I rip, I realize that I have La Fred to thank for my current method. I learned her take on unsewing at a sewing conference many many years ago…. and it’s still my favorite. Thank you Fred. Maybe it’s a little thing and not very important, but you definitely made a difference in my life

    Reply
  7. My heart goes out to La Fred. We can only hope she will win this battle. I have always purchased her patterns directly from her and got the greatest service, all the time. One of my favourite patterns is the Thalia pants. I made it in a light weight floral linen and the fit was perfect, straight out of the envelope. I have always received lots of compliments on this garment. I have also made the Daphne and it too was a perfect fit. Her patterns are very well drafted, with good construction instructions and are easy to construct.

    Sending La Fred some good Karma and a ray of hope.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

