RSS Feed

It’s Nice to Make Lemonade (LLL)

Posted on

Life’s Little Lemons (LLL) have been rolling my way for some time, but I reckon it’s the same for everybody, everywhere. This summer I had planned to continue making skirts to wear with various blouses for the summer, eager to get out of my winter uniform of wool pants. But. No. It was not to be.

I’ve been babying my feet since I was 13 but the middle years have been cruel and I succumbed to surgery 11 years ago, wearing orthotics for years and then just a different pair of shoes every day. But the feet have been ruling my life for some time, and beyond painful for the last 6 months. I was told I needed more surgery 3 months ago. Bleh!

Well, something happened, I don’t know what, it happened so fast, and I ended up with a bad ankle sprain and now I’m relegated to ankle and knee braces and orthotics with athletic shoes and socks.

FrontRt

and (wonderful) physical therapy, and horrible drugs. And everything is focused on the knee. Gee, I thought it was the feet! So much for what I know…LOL!!!

So, with physical therapy for the knee and no shorts in the wardrobe, I quickly made some athletic shorts from stashed technical knit using the leggings pattern I made last time I had a lace attack and a top to go with from long stashed EOS onionskin.

But What???? These shorts are bit tight! I hopped on the scale and found that I had gained 9 pounds in 5 days. Dang. And I was dizzy and my eyes don’t focus so well and I’m scared to drive…so I have been taking it easy, staying off my feet and letting the swelling go down.

Eventually I got brilliant enough to read the side effects of the anti-inflammatory I was taking…yup, all of these can be some of the side effects of meloxicam. Bleh. I am such a bad druggie. Today the swelling has gone down enough and I’m not taking this stuff (generic Mobic) any more.

(Gees, I’m glad it wasn’t that piece of cake I had…I’ve been dieting so hard and was on track with weight loss. It would be horrible if one piece of cake could add 9 pounds to a body. I don’t believe in dieting without some indulgences now and then.)

So back to the stitching adventure:

This top is cut using Anna Sui’s Vogue 2947 pattern which has been lovingly stored in the humongous file cabinet that holds the patterns. It’s now out of print but till available and hasn’t had great reviews at PR so I (being contrary) am adding one over there. I think it’s a great pattern in the right fabric! This poly knit (onionskin) is perfect.

middle

I love it! Because…the gathers are correctly placed for flattery

Gathers

See? It’s flat across the center of the torso, heavily gathered in the upper bodice for bust room and gathered for lower fullness only the side quadrant of the front torso. Perfect for my barrel shaped ribcage, I couldn’t have done it better myself. Thanks Anna!

The back is just the way I like it, too. I don’t know what’s going on with that little pooch sticking out there but photos are hard enough to come by and this shoot only took a half hour. I dare not push the photography luck any further.

side

I was prepared to add to the length to make sure it covered my behind but didn’t need to.

OK, I am short (5’2.25″) so the ties, which I faced, are tied into bows rather than dangling ends and I 4-step-zigzagged the front closed just to make sure I could do the physical therapy without having to grab my overly exposed front and let go of the balance bars.

front

And the Husband loves it.

Hey, I’m a happy camper. Ready to exercise, covered in the right places and exposed in the ones that are supposed to be exposed and stash, (fabric and pattern) exploited! Yay!

LLL’s are good once in a while, eh?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

16 responses »

  1. anti-inflammatories are not good for the heart, the kidneys, your blood pressure.I cannot take them. They cause want to retain water which is why it isn’t good for those three things.Hence I only use other painkillers.
    The top it’s very pretty.

    Reply
    • Yeah, you’re right, Colin. No more anti-inflammatory pills for me! Thank God I still had some of the Tramadol left over from Patch’s cancer journey. They were from a “human” pharmacy so they were OK for me to take as I couldn’t get in to see a doctor for 6 days after the fall (bleh).

      Reply
  2. MB, I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with the pain this summer. However, I love that new top and the shorts go perfectly. And using up the stash? Priceless.

    Reply
    • Not too much pain these days except if I’m on my feet too much. But I do hate ugly shoes…. Ugly shoes are somewhat offset by dwindling stash, though. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Your top is lovely. I had no idea about the gathering on the top and where the most flattering place was – now I do! Thank you.
    I’m sorry to hear you are having trouble with your knee and feet, I hope it won’t be long until you feel lots better.

    Reply
  4. So sorry to hear you have been served up all these lemons :} but you certainly have a wonderful attitude and are forging ahead. I hope your pain/discomfort doesn’t last too long….
    your top and shorts look great on you and you will be the most stylish person at therapy… and enjoy your cake, you truly look wonderful 🙂

    Reply
  5. MaryBeth, your top looks very pretty and elegant I am sorry about your hurting feet, ankle and knee. Hope that the needed supplies will help.
    Hugs Els

    Reply
  6. Poor thing! but the outfit is pretty cute 🙂

    Reply
  7. Lemonade! Lemonade! Actually, here in the southwest it’s more like limeade, with tequila. They call them margaritas.

    The top is gorgeous. Looks lovely on you.

    Maybe have some fun with the accoutrements of the sprain.

    Stranger: “Gee, how did you hurt yourself?”
    MB: “I leapt in front of a speeding car to save a that was about to be run over”
    or
    MB: “I was reliving my wanton youth by further perfecting the trapeze triple somersault I used to do”.
    or the old standard
    MB: “I can’t tell you because of national security. If I did, I’d have to kill you.”

    2 years ago when my shoulder as banged up, I had great fun coming up with reasons. It made more sense that what actually happened – I hurt my shoulder trying to save my wrist from carpal tunnel with the computer mouse.

    Reply
  8. Sorry to read about your new pains. Is it my imagination, that if we focus on 1 pain too much, another body part decides it wants some attention too? Yeah, I’m dealing with aches & pains too, mostly from too much tonnage pounding the hips/knees/feet. They all seem to take turns vying for my attention.

    But now for the happier subject – that lovely top! Thanks for pointing out where the gathers are, I have a couple patterns similar, and also RTW tops. I know know why some look like maternity, and some not. Is that braid metallic, or a shiney rayon(?) ? Whichever it is, it added just the right touch!

    Reply
  9. Oh, I forgot, thanks for the warnings about the anti-inflammatory meds. Does this include the over-the-counter ones also, or is it more the prescribed ones that cause problems? I occasionally take OTC for my aches & pains, I’d hate to find out I’m really doing myself no favors.

    Reply
    • I’d suggest that you look up the side effects on the web or in the Physician’s Desk Reference of Pharmaceuticals for anything you take. I tend to get all the rare side effects. I was taking the generic form of Mobic, meloxicam.

      Reply
  10. Sorry about the lemons, but if the result is the lovely top you are coming out ahead, and with a good attitude too.

    Hope you are feeling better soon. I tend to get all the rare side-effects too.

    Reply
  11. So sorry to hear about YOUR knee, MaryBeth. The problem with bad feet (yeah, I have those too) is that you’re always favoring one or the other, which is bad for the balance; hence, bad for the back, knees, hips, etc. I have been putting off foot surgery for 2 years and now I’m having knee surgery instead. I’m glad you may be able to skip that. I also cannot take anti inflamatorier other than celebrex, but I use natures most efficient anti-inflamatory – ICE!

    I love this top on you. I remember the pattern, but wasn’t impressed. Now I”m wishing I would have picked it up. I’m going to check my local stores and see if they may still have it in stock. You’re right, the fabric makes it.

    Reply
  12. the top looks just lovely – but sorry to learn about your feet – so miserable to have sore feet. best wishes ruth

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

