RSS Feed

In Memorium for Fred Bloebaum

I have noticed people searching for information about Fred and LaFred patterns so I, with great sadness, pass on this information.

Dr Bresnik, Fred’s husband, posted this information on the CarePages for FredFans early this morning. It will be published in the San Francisco Chronicle today.

Fred (Janis) Bloebaum
59, of Oakland, CA passed away in her home on September 4, 2010. Born in Rock Island, IL, she graduated from the University of Illinois in 1973 and was a Bay Area resident since 1977. Fred was the creator of the La Fred pattern line and a nationally renowned sewing and clothing design instructor. Fred’s sense of style, fashion, color and beauty was a driving passion in her life, which was appreciated by everyone she knew. Fred was a wonderful, loving, vivacious and generous friend, sister, wife and mother. She had a huge impact on all the people she touched and will live in our hearts forever.

She is survived by her husband Dr Mark Bresnik, her son Andrew Bresnik (BJ Taylor) and grandson Oliver of Seattle, Washington, her mother Donnella Bloebaum, her brother Michael Bloebaum and sisters Cynthia Bloebaum, Gail Swain and Peggy Green.
Family and friends are invited to celebrate her life on Friday, Sept 17, 1pm at Plymouth United Church of Christ, 424 Monte Vista Avenue, Oakland. Per Fred’s request, please wear your favorite colors. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to Project Open Hand 730 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA and Sutter VNA Hospice, 1900 Powell St, Emeryville CA.

If you want more information and to read all the posts since Feb 15, 2010, when pancreatic cancer with liver involvement were first published, you can go to the FredFans page here

I feel cancer threatening too many, too often, and it is almost crushing.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. I did not know her up to few days ago but I feel sorry for losing her. I sense that I would have loved to meet her.

    Reply
  2. I know what you mean . . . a good friend of mine is battling pancreatic cancer right now. I suppose this is what happens, when you reach a certain age in life, you see your friends and family slip away due to such horrible diseases . . .

    Reply
  3. Thanks for posting the information. Her passing saddens me so.

    Reply
  4. I was one of those searching for info. Thanks, Mary Beth, for posting it.

    Reply
  5. D'Neesha, Brisbane Aust

    I knew of her only via website and patterns, yet even through these mediums I had a great sense of her dedication to her craft 7 customers. I recall an newsletter saying she was stepping away from the business, I wrote and said I hoped she was not ill. I now know she was after a memorium appeared on my Threads newsletter.
    A loss to the world of craft, her family and her fans.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

