RSS Feed

Butterick 5571 Sleepwear Sets

B5571, originally uploaded by Mary Beth R.


This is an easy pattern. I used Ann and Allyn’s Thanksgiving Weekend PJ Sew-A-Long to challenge myself to a marathon sew-in. It forced me to find all the sewing tools and to test the work areas.

OK, the sewing set up needs a lot of work still! But the pattern is a good one for marathon sewing.

I tested and tweaked the pants pattern with 2 casual woven pants. The pattern is fairly similar to what I would normally cut as a custom drafted pant so I had the new test pair on for our Thanksgiving River Walk.

2010-11-25 thanksgiving Walk

Then I hit the cutting table with 10 yards of silk weight power dry and the result so far is made 1 PJ bottoms, made 1 long sleeved top, 2 long sleeved gowns and 1 robe. The only style I haven’t tested is the shorter pants and short sleeved top.

I have cut but not yet sewn 1 long sleeved top in pale yellow silk jersey, 1 more power dry PJ bottom and 1 robe in WindPro Lite, a thin but fuzzy thermal technical fabric that Malden Mills used to make for a commercial manufacturer.

I love the silk weight power dry for wearing to bed. It is changing my life long habit of sleeping in the nude.

Here are some pix of sets on the body.

Robe tied in front & Nightgown Robe, Top & Bottoms

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

13 responses »

  1. I love this Mary Beth! Don’t recall every seeing this pattern. Also love your comfy slippers.

    Reply
  2. Wow, these look wonderfully comfortable and i love the color!

    Reply
  3. That looks fantastic on you, and you look fantastic in them!

    Reply
  4. Looks like you had a successful time – checking out the sewing set up and getting some really lovely pajamas in the process.

    Reply
  5. So nice, so comfortable the silk, very nice place! very nice sewing place!
    Have a message from France, keep you in my best sewingwebposter…

    Reply
  6. So pretty…you *and* the sleepwear sets !

    Reply
  7. Where are you at??? Did you forget that one of your jobs is to continually inspire me?

    Reply
  8. Hi Mary-Beth.- Only wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. My best wishes for another year full of happy sewing …!!!

    Reply
  9. MB you are looking GOOD! xo

    Reply
  10. Allison Mead Schultz

    Lovely! Where do you purchase silk weight power dry? That is exactly what I’d like to find!

    Reply
    • I’m afraid I can’t help you, Allison. I don’t know where this fabric is being sold at the moment. You might try calling Polartec. That is the name of the company that bought Malden Mills, the original manufacturer.

      My silkweight powerdry was milled in special purchases done through a fabric buying coop at Yahoo groups: Fabrics and Notions. You can join up here:

      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FabricsAndNotions/files/

      There are no powerdry buys going on right now though and the group is on a hiatus but you never know when the Evil Queen, Ressy, will want to do another.
      There are plenty of discussions about it on PatternReview.com message boards which you can read by searching on the word “powerdry”. Here is a good one but it is from 6 years ago: sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?​t=11205

      So sorry!

      Reply
  11. Pingback: Powerdry pajamas | Tribalgamingin

So, What Do You Think?

