RSS Feed

Vintage Liberty Wool Challis

Posted on

100_0049

Some time ago I received a phone call from a friend. She is expecting to be a grandmother to twins and wanted to know if I had any of my dressing frames left over from my educational materials sewing days. I didn’t. I was in the process of closing The Stitchery and clearing out the building at that point so I wouldn’t have time to make up a set for her. However, since Montessori dressing frames allow 3 year old children to learn how to zip, button, tie and finally dress themselves I have time to make panels for her yet unborn twins.

At the end of the phone call my friend, a very busy teacher trainer and educational consultant, mentioned that she had some beautiful vintage Liberty wool challis and some other fabrics she would send me. She has stashed gorgeous fabrics from her sewing days and can’t bare to take them to Goodwill. Ohhhh.

I love wool challis! Click the link to learn some tasty tidbits about this fabric. It works easily, has incredible drape, firmness, light body and yet softness and is excellent for lightly tailored garments.

I’ve been designing and constructing on a dress of printed wool challis using a fabric I bought 4 years ago from Fashionista Fabrics that I love so much. It’s finally done and when I am presentable enough for a body shot I’ll show you. Here’s a “hanger shot”. The dark blue is a fine pine strip suiting from Michael’s Fabrics

100_0047

I adore the reds against the emerald, black, blue and tan background. Have been jealously planing the exact usage of this challis for years LOL.

My friend’s package arrived this week. Yes, truly vintage Liberty of London wool challis in the 60’s style of colors and print

The back of the tag tells the cleaning method. Wish this was still done, don’t you?

100_0050

There are 2 pieces of this amazing wool. One is 3 yard and the other about 2 yards. What shall I make? I think a longer tunic with wide or dropped sleeves to be worn over white narrow legged pants.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Pretty! They remind me of Pucci.

    Reply
  2. Wow, nice trade! those old prints don’t even look dated to me. Challis is so nice to wear, and seems to be hard to find these days.

    Reply
  3. Mmmm . . . both of those prints are lovely, the one you’re working on and the “new” ones. I agree with the slim white pants. You could work that look right into summer.

    Reply
  4. Wow. Just wow. I love wool challis. My last piece was from G Street Fabrics and it became a skirt.

    (I’ll admit that my skin and lungs do not like wool so I no longer sew or wear it…)

    …but there’s nothing like a wonderful wool challis to sew. And it wears like iron and hangs beautifully….

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

