RSS Feed

Last Minute Coat – Vogue 1129

Posted on

Two days before leaving on my trip to visit family I decided to make a coat from Vogue 1129 since I have an identical large herringbone wool that the Vogue people used for the envelope cover. Except, my fabric is in camel and dark brown. It was originally from The Wool House through my friend, Diane Tartara, so it is a high quality woolen with cashmere in it.

Vogue 1129 Front2

Oh yes, I love the fabric. It’s soft and has a nice drape, just enough body. I love the coat, too, it feels more like a long sweater.

Here’s a link to the Vogue Pattern 1129

What the envelope back says:

MISSES’ JACKET: Unlined, fitted jacket with pockets, drape, two-piece sleeves and topstitch trim, above mid-knee length. [The description doesn’t tell you that the pockets are inserted into armscye darts. Love this detail!]

NOTIONS: Two Jumbo Snaps, 1/4″ Double Fold Bias Tape, One Large Hook and Eye.

FABRICS: Mohair, Lightweight Woolens and Wool Double Knit. Unsuitable for obvious diagonals. Allow extra fabric to match plaids or stripes. Use nap yardages/layouts for pile, shaded or one-way design fabrics. *with nap. **without nap.

Combinations: AA(6-8-10-12), EE(14-16-18-20)

I cut a 14 through the shoulders and sleeves and widened it out to size 20 from the armscye on down. And then I realized that the drape was cut at the size 14 but it was to go across a size 20 front. Good thing it was on the bias and I could stretch it to fit.

The pattern also indicates this style is for an inverted triangle or an hourglass figure. I’m more of a rectangle from the front right now and an hourglass from the back so I’d say anyone would look good, and feel good, in this coat.

I love how easy it was to wear on the long plane trips. Yeah, did I say I’m happy with this coat?

It’s easy to make, too, once you get it cut out. The drape pattern piece is huge! The instructions are good but be sure you know how to make mitered corners, as the instructions give no help there.

OK, we’d best go on to the photos as my hands aren’t helping with this post. Wait, Huh?? Oh never mind.

Front Back

Yes. Front and Back

Here’s the side:

Side

The pocket edges are bound and slip stitched to the inside of the coat. I inherited 5 packages of the gold bias tape. It was left over from my Mother’s last pantsuit. I consider it my good luck charm, her pantsuit was sewn so impeccably. 🙂 But what I had in my stash was single fold so I folded it in little less than a half with the iron. Hey, it worked just fine.

Inside

The funkiest part was figuring out how the drape was supposed to go. It is sewn to the right front and actually makes a pocket where you can stash stuff like you would with a wrapped rebosa or baby sling.

Drap

I love the drape over the shoulder. It’s dramatic and it breaks up a wide rear view. Yes. Good thing.

It is held in place by a large hook and eye with the eye being located at the shoulder seam.

Fastener

I couldn’t have asked for a better pattern for a last minute coat.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. Oh I love it! You always do such beautiful work. And I must say you look so chic wearing it.

    Reply
  2. Great coat… Perfect fabric

    Reply
  3. Sure a nice coat, but such a nice woman with silver hair

    Reply
  4. What a beautiful coat! Thanks for showing the extra details – from the pattern envelope, you don’t actually see those. That binding on the inside is perfect.

    You look great and love the the way you’re wearing the layers.

    Reply
  5. Oh, I love that coat!

    Reply
  6. I love your coat. I kept putting that pattern on my list, then removing it because I thought that draped bit would be falling down all the time. Now that I see yours, it may go back on the list.

    Reply
  7. That is a great coat! I think I have that pattern somewhere. I need to find it and sew it up. It looks like a great pattern to use to highlight a special fabric.

    Reply
  8. Gorgeous coat! I have that pattern somewhere. I hope that when I finally get around to making it, it will look half as good as yours.

    I love this new, softer look on you. Positively radiant.

    Reply
  9. Very chic! Suits you perfectly

    Reply
  10. You have a good looking coat. I am wondering what machine you used on that fabric. The material looks heavy but not thick. The pattern was not that easy to work with but you keep the lines straight and have a beautiful coat.

    Reply
  11. This is a gorgeous coat. It looks great on you. Très chic !

    Reply
  12. Love your coat! I cut this pattern out last fall, but haven’t made it up yet.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

