RSS Feed

New Looks for Blog and House

Posted on

Something new for The Stitchery Blog after all these years.  The old theme has not been changed since August 2006 when I started at WordPress.com.  That’s 380 posts, 2374 comments, 313,821 views, according to the WordPress.com stats. I don’t know of those stats include all the posts brought in from a little Yahoo blog started in Feb 2006.

I guess I’m in the mood for sprucing up.   But I don’t want to spend a lot of time on it.  I’ll add links and such as my fingers allow the typing.

I have other things to absorb my energy

Let’s try a photo or 3 of my current preoccupations.

Yesterday’s sourdough

And then there’s landscaping:

I am wondering if I should hack out the overgrown boxwood, if I have the strength. It’s hard work!  But while I was not feeling my best I just did not have the energy to care about the landscaping and, well, you know, my “gardener” took advantage of my malaise and…

Things Got Out of Hand. Malva sylvestris ‘ Zebrina ‘ AKA French Hollyhock competes with Four O’Clocks and a lonely clump of Stella D’Oro Lillies in the same bed with “The Box Woods Who Wish To Eat The House.

Many box woods have already been taken out due to winter kill or die off from animal damage or pruning

I’m thinking that all need to be taken out and a new start with a clean, lean bed and low lying plants would make the house look less besieged by box woods and wild over- growing flowers.  After all, what is the purpose of “foundation plantings” but to hide an ugly foundation.

This house has some nice soft brick and doesn’t need the camouflage.

I have some new roses to plant

Wing Dings

They bloom in flushes Coral Drifts

So far everything I’ve chosen grows to 1.5 to 2′ tall and spreads to 3′ wide.

I won’t take everything out (if I can take anything out at all by myself) An old climber planted over 11 years ago punctuates the property edge and climbs the utility pole.  The tag says Jackson & Perkins, Cl Blaze

There’s so much hard physical work to do, I think the trees are safe from me  🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. Your flowers are all such beautiful colors.

    I like the look of your blog. I’d love to re-do mine too but I just can’t bring myself to start changing it just yet.

    Reply
    • You’ve got every bit of good judgement to not want to re-do, Ann. I was determined not to get caught up in lots of work…but I am. The photos aren’t showing in Google reader and the thumbnail is highly disappointing. When I go to the blog, the side column is at the bottom. Sigh.

      Reply
  2. I love the new look of your blog! I really admire all of the planting of flowers and the garden. My flowers consist of a trip to the garden shop and picking up big planters full of colorful flowers and plopping them down on the deck. This year I did leave room for some tomatoes and something else to grow in a pot…mostly because I just want to see if I can grow “food” on my deck!

    Reply
  3. How did I miss this post? Glad to see you’ve made progress with your plans, and always happy to look at rose pix. Are you keeping the four oclocks? I think they’re useful and smell nice besides. I have the ones with chartreuse leaves. Some people think they’re too old fashioned, though.

    Reply
    • Chartreuse leaves, I’ve never seen! 4 o’clocks will be reintroduced in a more shady part of the landscape later. They were beloved by hummers and moths but closed during the day when butterflies were out

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

