RSS Feed

Front Porch Cushions

Posted on

In yesterday’s heat I worked outside only until around 11 am and then posted to the blog and went to Hancock Fabrics to try to find some good quality, high UV rated covering for the new cushions. Half price sale on many things over there!

And thank goodness for that! I’ve been cheating for the last 11 years by using some old indoor cushions from Pier One and they have completely rotted apart underneath my recover project of 2007. Time to buy proper foam. I chose 2″ thick because I don’t like the feeling of lots of foam under me.

Over at Hancock Fabrics I didn’t find what I wanted and settled for 2 yards of this:

Cushion Fabric

As it turns out its was 3″ shy of what I needed so I planned to cut the back of the settee cushion on the weft (lengthwise) of the fabric. I did, cutting very carefully since the seats of the chair and settee are trapezoidal. And then I carefully cut the bottom for the chair seat from, yes, the fabric that had been cut for the settee bottom.

Back to Hancocks! Good thing it is on half price sale.

This is the pattern I am using to make the cushion covers: It’s from the 1978 edition of The Reader’s Complete Guide to Sewing, page 448. The newest edition doesn’t have the home dec info that this old version has so I prefer it.

Cutting Instructions

Cushion pattern

Here’s the Flikr link to the photo where you can make it larger if you’re needing to use this pattern.

I wish I were better at ripping off oops, reproducing written instructions and pictures from books but really your sewing library needs this book so go look for it on ebay or at Amazon.com. I don’t know for a fact that the 1976 edition has the same info but it surely might. The newest version doesn’t.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. lol. I wonder if anyone who regularly sews has never had the experience of cutting a smaller piece from a larger already-cut piece. Maybe it’s a right-of-passage or something….

    Reply
  2. RITE of passage… lol

    Reply
    • I slipped one by everybody yesterday: On the picture of the To Do list for the front yard I spelled “shutters” as “shudders”, as they should be spelled when they are faded and need painting, right?

      But after messing with Paint way too long to get those words in there and they turned out to be too small to read because the template shrunk the photo, hey, I couldn’t face redoing and fixing.

      Reply
  3. Been there, done that- commiserating! I do like the fabric though. I have been putting off making new cushions for my patio chairs. Thanks for the kick!

    Reply
  4. Ooooh Love the fabric! I enjoy doing home-dec sewing every once in a while…

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

