RSS Feed

Tiny Ants

Posted on
Tiny Ants, originally uploaded by Mary Beth R.

Hi Blog Readers!

Everything old becomes new again, isn’t that the saying? Today, I am happy to return of my old way of summertime ant control.

When ants invaded my home this summer, I tried ant spray instead of my usual mode of feeding the poor critters outside. Chemical warfare would work for a day or two until the critters found a new avenue of attack. It was not fun for me to kill them and suffer the smells of chemicals inside but I tried and tried, holding out for my introduction into the wonderful world of insect free modernity.

It . Didn’t . Work

Last night I set out a plate of sugar water. I don’t know where I got this remedy but I much prefer it to RAID.

Outside, lined up so cutely around the plate, the numbers of ants is so much smaller than when they are invading the kitchen but I’ll bet that is just a result of my sense of panic and imposition.  The Middle Way is so much better!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. I love your solution. My children feed the little guys outside with bugs and other treats, I’ll have to tell them about sugar water.

    Reply
  2. Tell me more! Does it really keep them out of the house? Does it attract bees? How long do you leave it out? My house has been almost entirely ant free this summer…until today. My little guy opened up his backpack with wet towel in it and they were everywhere! Just saw another 5-6 near the kitchen garbage can. Ugh.

    Reply
    • Oh yes, it has worked like a charm. 2 whole days without invasion after 2 months of almost daily incursions onto the counters, cupboards, everywhere. Couldn’t leave the dog food out, even.

      Finally, Peace!!!

      OK, here’s the deal. Water evaporates so replenish every day and check 2x a day. Remember you’re feeding a colony and they are relying on you. Karmic responsibility and all.

      Sprinkle less than a teaspoon of sugar into it when it goes almost dry and pour water. They are happy, I am ecstatic.

      Good luck 🙂

      Reply
    • Oh I forgot, Dana: In years past I’ve seen yellow jackets come to feed but not bees. And this year it is just my teeny tiny ants who have kept the plate decorated at all hours except when the sun bakes the china too hot to trot upon.

      Reply
  3. I would buy china with that pattern. So cute! I like your solution and will remember it.

    Reply
  4. This is a very funny picture! But I’m sure it’s not fun to have these guests invading your home …

    Reply
  5. My first thought was “cute picnic plates” before I read about feeding them. I don’t have ants in too often, and for me, those ant “feeding” stations usually work. No smell, no mess, but you do need to give it a few days.

    Reply
    • Oh yes, I tried those ant feeding stations and maybe they did kill off ants but the stream of visitors didn’t change. I am a 21st century chemical warfare fail!

      So far, feeding outside has really made everyone very happy and my kitchen is ant free. I’ve added a kibble of dog food next to the plate every other day or so to the sugar water offering and it works wonderfully.

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

