RSS Feed

Vogue 1250

Posted on

This was a fun little dress to sew up quickly.

Vogue 1250

V1250

Notice the folds that extend down over the waistline? This cut is all wrong for my body, which is why I didn’t buy this pattern when it came out. I am too apple shaped at the moment to have folds over my waist and tummy! But so many people of differing shapes were trying the pattern and having fun with it, I couldn’t resist any longer.

So I played around with the side seams until I had sufficiently corralled the wrinkles to fall only under my bust.

Side

To control the excess fabric I relied on the stretch in the material and nipped in the torso a total of 6 inches by taking 1.5″ deep curves out of the side seams.

This drastic a curve in the side seams does produce wrinkles but with the busy print and the natural draping of the cut the wrinkles look as if they are part of the gathering of the dress.

The hand of the fabric also helps me produce this result. This is an old buttermilk from EOS that was very popular 6 years ago. I’m sure many of you all recognize the pattern! For those that don’t have prior experience with Buttermilk: it has a “thick” hand, is very slippery and falls in wide drapes.

I didn’t have quite enough of the fabric so I had to cut 2 of the upper back and seam down the middle rather than cut on the fold. No problem.

I can live with this solution. An empire waist line helps give an illusion of height to a short person (I’m 5’2.25″ tall). The side wrinkles are not even very easy to see. Only us dressmakers know that the wrinkles really should not be there and that the original style meant for folds to languish down the front of the body.

Front

You won’t tell, will you? Doesn’t matter, I’ve already spilled the beans 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

16 responses »

  1. THAT is really nice! Love the print and style. xo

    Reply
  2. I made one of my versions out of some EOS buttermilk too and it was the perfect drape for the dress! This is lovely on you! And wasn’t it easy to sew!

    Reply
  3. It looks great! I remember buttermilk knits! I wonder what happen to mine?

    Reply
  4. Oh you look great in this dress and I “love” the print.

    Reply
  5. That is a beautiful print, and I like how you corralled the drape. I have this pattern already cut out, it’s just waiting for me to finish my last project.

    Reply
  6. Great looking dress, perfect fabric print for this dress pattern. You look fantastic.

    Reply
  7. Pam ~Off The Cuff~

    Wow Mary Beth….fantastic dress, and you look wonderful! I love the “go for it” way you solve fitting issues and make patterns work for you rather than against you…that’s true talent, my dear 🙂

    Reply
  8. Absolutely gorgeous! Looks so chic and sleek on you. Now I’m inspired to dig that pattern out of the stacks, and give it a whirl. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply
  9. I was resisting this pattern, being quite sure that the shape would not suit me, but your version is making this quite difficult! Your alterations are very clever, and make the dress look terrific on you. The print is great

    Reply
  10. You did a good job, fitting that dress to your body. It looks wonderful on you.

    Reply
  11. Lovely! You look great in this.

    Reply
  12. the most flattering version of this pattern I have seen. Removing the wrinkles from the abdominal area was brilliant.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

