RSS Feed

Car Seat Covers

Those who read my blog know that I am With Dog 24/7. Gaely GoLightly went to work with me each day when I worked at Hello Wood Products. And when I got my own studio she was there, too.

Miss Gaely GoLightly

Now, almost 14 years later, I’m at home every day and she goes with me where ever I go.

Gaely in the Front

I only travel alone when she will have to be in the car in weather that is too hot or too cold. She has not been left alone in the house for longer than a half day.

Recently, no longer needing a heavy, all weather vehicle with highly adjustable seats, I sold my luxury Towncar and bought a used Prius. I had the Prius seats covered in silver and black leather. Cloth seats covered in dog hair are not fun.

Gaely on the Console

Sadly little Gaely’s legs are not strong enough to hold her up on the slippery leather. She has broken both ligaments in her back knees (ACL injuries) and has a number of slipped disks in her backbone. It was plain that she was in jeopardy of a major injury or worse, paralysis, if she slid the wrong way trying to get into the car or during a stopping maneuver. I needed something her little toenails could dig into.

I used to keep a non-skid bath mat on the Towncar’s console and back seat but the rubber had disintegrated over the 4 years. Patch, you may remember him, his dog bed tutorial has become quite a hit

Patch in the Fitting Mirror

had chewed up the back seat throw. Among his peculiarities was severe anxiety and he was a dedicated chewer. Those original bathmats cost me over $65.

So this time I thought about the costs and requirements and bought a yard of the $50 per yard Tissavel faux fur that has been offered on a few different fabric sites this past year.

Luxurious

The back seat throw is 56″ wide and 24″ deep and the console cover is approximately 14″ x 17″. I love the deep pile so Gaely hang on (not that I drive like Mr Toad or anything, poop-poop!) She loves the luxury and she’s not a chewer. She’s happy.

Console Cover

The covers are simply tucked into the seats and bound with 1″ black petersham I had on hand. I definitely had second thoughts about using the petersham but I had bought a whole role of it while at Claire Shaeffer’s workshop and finally persuaded myself I should actually use it.

Back Seat Binding

I matched the edges of the faux fur to the ribbon and stitched less than .25″ from the edge, then turned the binding over the edge and top stitched it down. Nothing fancy, no mitered corners. The petersham was so easy to work with! I just left the selvedge edges on each end of the back seat throw.

Close up of binding

I still have a 20″ x 44″ piece of the faux fur left, enough to make collar and cuffs for a winter jacket.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. OMG, I would love to wear your backseat cover, it is very posh, and how nice that Gaely GoLightly has a nice place to curl up in the car.

    Reply
  2. What a fantastic idea..You are the best 🙂

    Reply
  3. What a divine carriage for Gaely. Back when we had dogs, I made them dog beds – high density foam covered with water proof nylon, then washable fleece covers. They nylon helped to prevent the foam from absorbing “accidents” as the dogs aged. 2 beds each, stacked one atop the other for height and comfort.

    Gaely is so fortunate to have such a nice Mom.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

