RSS Feed

Frog Day

As I was picking the last of the ears of corn, inside the leaf that entwines an ear was this little sweetie: a brown tree frog known as a Spring Peeper.

100_0962

In eleven years of living here I’ve never seen one although we hear them all spring, summer, and fall. So I couldn’t help going a little FROG Crazy!

100_0963

100_0966

After the corn was cleared out I planted cabbage, broccoli, and Brussels Sprouts. Look who was hanging with the Brussels Sprouts: a smaller tree frog

100_0967

100_0971

100_0973

100_0977

I urged him on to go hook up with his cousin in the tomato grove. It really is a grove: the vines are way over 8′ long. I pulled out 4 Cherokee Purple plants to make room for the fall crops. These were uncaged or staked, they sprawled out across the ground. I still have 7 Cherokee Purples in the ground and 4 other tomato varieties. The garden harvest has been so prolific I feel ready for a bit of a break so I can sew.

100_0978

These are Brussels sprouts and a volunteer cucumber where the corn used to be. I have no idea how that cucumber got in there but when it sprouted I thought it might be a bean plant since beans and peas preceded the corn in this location. I definitely have had enough cucumbers this year!

100_0981

Rain is due for the next few days so I’ve cleared and planted as fast as I can. I was out in the garden at 6:30 am and didn’t come in until 12:30, exhausted and dehydrated, even though it was only in the low 80’s. Lunch didn’t revive me so I decided to take time to post this. It’s sprinkling now but I’m too beat to finish getting everything in the ground today. I have 24 more cabbage seedlings and have cleared out 3 beds but there’s too much work for this lady to do alone. When the peppers and okra finish I’ll seed the beds with turnip greens.

I have to attach the front skirt to the bodice, attach the ties and set in the sleeves on McCalls 5974

M5974

It looks OK so far and I hope to finish it this afternoon. We’ll just see about that!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for sharing the lovely frogs!

    Reply
  2. Frogs creep me out and fascinate me all at the same time. Glad to hear your Tie dress is turning out just fine. I’m looking forward to seeing the results.

    Reply
  3. Thank you for sharing these cute little fellows with us. You are an ambitious lady!

    Reply
  4. The first time my family and I got to see one of our tree frogs, we went a little crazy with pictures too!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

