RSS Feed

Hot Patterns 1003 Metro Seriously Stylin Jacket

Posted on

This started out as an ordinary photo shoot of my finished jacket but something happened and I just couldn’t do the serious part of this stylin’ jacket any more.

100_1052

Maybe it was the non existent moon

Beam me up, Scotty

or my old cowboy boots

Gettin it

but suddenly I just couldn’t take it any more

100_1058

I gave what I was doing a little thought

100_1061

and I had to DANCE!

100_1049

I guess there’s only so many years of these photo shoots a person can take before they realize how ridiculous it can be

100_1063

showing off the details

100_1056

and trying to style it just right

100_1048 (2)

but, this time I turned my back on the extraordinary

100_1054

regained my composure

100_1053

and fit back into the mold. Here’s the proper version

Pockets and Lining

Details: I cut a 14 throughout the chest and sleeves and a 20 from the waistband on down. I lined it with a well aged poly crepe and added the patch pockets from Vogue 1225. I made up my own instructions on that part.

If you’re interested in this Hot patterns jacket it’s on clearance at the HP site.

Get a good jacket construction book and follow it. Space the peplum gathers and panels so they look good on you. I kept the peplum sides ungathered and had to remove some fabric to do that. I didn’t add the shoulder pads nor did I use a chest piece. If you’re going to do something more formal then you might want to.

Full Front

I won’t be sewing for the rest of the month. See you when I get home from a whirl wind round of sales trips.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

18 responses »

  1. I love the jacket…

    I hope you know that I now have “I Hope You Dance” playing over and over and over in my head. 😉

    Reply
  2. Hahahahahahahaha! Snort!!!
    Oh man, pardon me while I wipe the tears of laughter from my eyes.

    Seriously, though, that is a great jacket, and I love your nail polish!

    Reply
  3. Wonderful! Love the dancing photos, especially. Nice to see you sparkle!

    Reply
  4. MB, what a great way to start my day! Your jacket is awesome and your photos? Well, they are just fierce. You might want to work a little on your pout. 😉

    Reply
  5. Mary Beth…why I do believe you are ready for your very own photo-spread in Vogue Patterns Magazine! LOL!

    Seriously now, this is a wonderful garment..and you look beautiful!

    Reply
  6. I love it, MB! It’s a great jacket shown off by your unique style. I especially like the gathered pocket.

    Reply
  7. I really enjoyed this post! The jacket is terrific, of course, but what I really wanted to say is that I love how you’re wearing your hair. It’s a really flat look.

    Reply
  8. I think the puppy pulled out of the shoot once he realized you weren’t going to take it seriously. lol Love the jacket, and the shoot!

    Reply
  9. Gorgeous, gorgeous jacket – and the perfect lining to go with it!

    Reply
  10. Love the shapely jacket…love your posing even more! Looking good!

    Reply
  11. Excellent dancing photos. I love the gathers and the lining of your jacket, it looks great, and you look as if you are having so much fun!

    Reply
  12. What is wrong with having some fun at photo shoots? I do it all the time! Great looking jacket, love the fun lining.

    Thanks for making me laugh this morning!

    Reply
  13. Sondra Meyer Raile

    Beautiful jacket.

    Reply
  14. You are so cute, AND funny! Now, I have “Cut Loose” in my head! Oh, and a very snazzy jacket. It looks wonderful on you. As always, I envy that hair!

    Reply
  15. What a great jacket! I love the style of it, and the pockets as well. Very impressive. 🙂 Fun blog post, too. Three cheers for randomly breaking out into dance when things get frustrating.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

