RSS Feed

Fabric on The Road, Seriously

Last night we returned from our last sales trip of the year 2011, this one to Troy, Michigan. I didn’t find the right fabric to bring home but

Fabric found me,

Road Fabric, that is.

Friday night, this truck was parked outside our motel room. Really. I had to blink twice.

Truck

What the heck is a GeoTextile?

Road Fabrics Truck

Up at 6:30 the next morning and the trucks were gone!  However later that morning a couple of trucks returned and I was able to document the rolls of netting and mysterious fabrics and bundles on the flatbeds

Road Fabric Rolls

Fabrics

Road Fabrics

How curious. The trucks were pulling machines with spray nozzles that were covered in drippy, gooey, tarry looking black stuff. So this is what the future of textiles looks like? I was too shy to interrupt the crew members and interrogate ask them about the process.

So Gaely and her shadow just circled the wagons

Gaely and her Shadow

puttering around, doing what a woman and a dog do on a sunny morning and trying to mind our own business. Gaely had no trouble with this.

That afternoon I tried to buy fabric, really I did, at Haberman’s in Royal Oak, MI. I found the perfect piece, a smooth, hard, gray wool jersey knit by Michael Kors but there was only 1.25 yards left, not enough. The store is fabulous, the fabrics are great, ohhhh, the buttons, the patterns, the boning! but nothing was exactly what I was looking for. I walked out of a fabric store empty handed. That’s right. It happened.

I’m home and there are no more sales trips on the 2011 calendar. I think it’s safe to unpack the suitcase until 2012.

And I will have time to sew. Most likely sewing will happen.

Promise!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Gosh! Isn’t it a PITA when you find JUST the right thing only to find it isn’t enough? Envy the trip. xo

    Reply
  2. Empty handed? Although I’ve done that before too when I don’t find exactly what I want.

    Reply
  3. I think what those trucks were carrying is the material to rubberize roads. A mesh of some sort is put down, then a coating applied over top. The powers that be have started doing that here in the Southwest. Makes for quieter freeways.

    Reply
  4. We just cannot escape fabric….it’s everywhere, lol!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

