RSS Feed

HP 1115 Revisited: Classix Nouveau Dressy Jeans In The Daylight

To be fair to this pattern: here’s the pants, in daylight, without the bulky, cling-y long johns, just a tee and sweater tucked in.

Reminder from my last post: I intentionally cut these pants a size (or 2) large and sewed them using a very stretchy, unlined wool/lycra fabric so I could layer underneath as needed for outdoor work.

Front wo long johns

back w dog

The leg shaping is good and work well the cowboy boots without having to resort to “boot cut”, a shape that can make me look, if not feel, shorter and curvier.

I have an exceptionally flat derriere and besides the fact that I get a great deal of extra drape in the upper back leg, I find the pocket shape to be unflattering to my particular configuration.

back pockets

Even Gaely seems concerned LOL

back pockets closeup

Shot during the day light, now you all might be better equipped to draw your own conclusions on whether or not this pattern would work for you.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

13 responses »

  1. You do excellent work! Should you make another pair eliminate the back pockets. Pockets make the butt look bigger.

    Reply
  2. The pants are great and look like they will serve you well! I agree with you about the waistband – just do your own thing with it next time.

    Reply
  3. Your new denim jeans looks great for working outside and inside your cold sewing garage.
    I ditto the above comment about the pockets.
    But if you insist on back pockets , place them up a bit higher with the opening just at the yoke seam.

    Reply
  4. I agree about raising the pockets, I think a higher placement would give you a more flattering look.

    Reply
  5. Thanks, you all. Now that I’ve seen that saggy behind in the daylight, I am also think that there is too much curve, (which means dart) built into the yoke, too.

    So I’ll leave off the back pockets since I don’t want to put a flap on them (a flat bottomer’s trick) and straighten out the yoke curve a bit.

    Reply
  6. I’m barely a beginner sewist, so can’t express anything but admiration for your skills in that department. What I would say is that I tend to shy away from any sort of a yoke on pants or skirts. I feel my legs are short enough as it is and I always think yokes make mine peg-like.

    I’m also a bit confused about what constitutes a large backside. I always used to think it meant what sticks out, but I’d be grateful for that now! I think a lot of us are quite flat in that department. Another definition seems to be if there is a long or wide expanse that is unbroken. I have a very long rise and consequently this describes me. I almost never tuck my tops in these days. For one, I like a bit more blowsing for camouflage in the front and for the other the top covers part of my ‘expanse’.

    I understand that larger pockets are supposed to be more flattering than too small ones. I’ve also read that having them slightly angled is better than just square, for example if the points of those pockets angled towards each other a bit. I don’t know if you would want to try that with these trousers or not. It is my dream one day to be able to sew well enough to implement some of these ideas for myself instead of being dependent on designers to do it for me.

    I do understand what you mean about wanting to stay warm. I wear layer upon layer this time of year (until about May or June!). If these pants allow you to do that alone, I would consider them a major success!

    Reply
  7. It’s a fine line to tread getting jeans not too baggy, but still roomy enough for a pair of thermals and still be able to move around doing yard work, isn’t it? My opinion is the back pockets are too big, low and outside.

    And these pictures are an excellent example of how lighting can change the look. The daylight pictures look much better.

    Reply
    • You’re right, Gail. Those pockets do no favors and need to just go. —– Original Message —–

      Reply
    • I agree with Just Gail, the pockets are too big and too low. I would leave them off or change them. Since you have yoke, welt pockets would not work. The more I look, the more I think that no pockets would be better. If you really want pockets, I think I would make the yoke smaller. You need space between the yoke seam and that top of the pockets, this might be the reason why they put them so low. A yoke that does not go as low could help if you want pockets. May I also suggest taking a bit of ease off the front ? but this is my humble opinion.

      Reply
      • Those pockets are ~funky~ and I’ve taken them off. I agree that the yoke is too wide as well. And, of course, I’m losing weight because I’ve been ill so there’s plenty of room for multiple layers now. Sigh, make pants, watch the weight change, don’t you know? 🙂 Every pound counts in how well the pants fit.

        Reply
  8. Happy New Year Mary Beth. I wish you a healthy and Happy 2012 🙂

    Theses pants are made beautifully.
    Thank you for a great reveiew on this pattern.
    I think the fit as we see it in pictures, is not overly bad, especially if these are 2 sizes bigger and sewn right out of the envelope….your next ones sewn the right size will fit pretty perfect.

    I hope you are feeling better 🙂

    Reply
  9. Outside lighting makes things look so much better. That highly directional stuff highlights every slight dent or ripple. Hope these are keeping you warm and that you’re feeling better by now.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

