RSS Feed

Vogue 8778 It’s a Big Top

Side V8778

I originally purchased Katherine Tilton’s 2011 Vogue pattern with the intent of using some of my thicker fleece but when I pulled it out this week and read whistlin dixie’s review and her blog post about the clinginess factor I was hesitant. I am making toppers I can throw on to go take a dog walk or get the mail or check the garden without showing my buns in my Winter Uniform: leggings.

I used an ancient woven wool lycra for my first version of this topper. I might make it again in a boiled wool and remove some width and length.

Proportions - It's a big top

When you click the pictures you will go to Flikr where I describe the particulars of my sewing decisions. It’s a worthwhile read if you’re considering making up this pattern. There is an error in the front pattern piece: the left side of the collar can not reach as far as the mark on the pattern. The fix is described in this photo’s description

Front - error on the front pattern piece

I hadn’t noticed the funky mess where the topper fabric meets the lower sleeve fabric until I uploaded this pictures. Wonder if I should try to fix it or just leave it as is. I think I’ll leave it alone and move on.

I have a lot to sew up before I have to return to the spring, summer and fall food garden madness. I’m off to make a turtleneck out of the sleeve fabric to wear under this top.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. I am not a sewer at all but I think this looks really good. you know what suits you. It reminds of capes that used to the rage in the 60’s. This an updated version? Whatever it is, I like ti and you look good as always. (Did I hear you say the cheque was in the post?)

    Reply
    • Thanks, Colin. It’s a pattern for a batwinged topper. I’ll edit to include the pattern picture. I have a ton of unused sewing patterns to try out so I should be posting more often than I have in the past couple of years. I don’t guarantee it will be pretty, though 🙂

      Reply
  2. I am so glad to see you again! I was just thinking about you recently. Your hair is long and of course–it is beautiful as always. Your top is perfect and looks terrific. Don’t stay away so long.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: KwikSew 2740 OOP « The Stitchery

  4. Love this top Looks great on you!! What a talent!

    Reply
  5. Oh I quite like this vest/top. Wonder how it would look in boiled wool!

    Reply
  6. Mary Beth, this is so funny. After I’d written the comment above, I scrolled down to see what fabric you had used. There was your comment on boiled wool!!! How interesting!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

