RSS Feed

Burda Faux Peplum Jacket – Construction Notes – Magazine 2006/08/128

Posted on

I am making up a tailored jacket from the August 2006 Burda Magazine. I found the Russian site Osinka.ru has the archives for 8/2006 here I am making pattern number 128

This is the jacket:

Jacket

I flat-pattern measured and cut a generous size 48 in this Plus Sized pattern. I’ve sewn up the shell and on me it looks exactly like how it looks on the model, with fullness above the waist and the hip skimming flat peplum.

It’s a boxy jacket with one button closing at the waist and rather broad, padded shoulders. Burda calls it a “Faux” peplum, maybe because the peplum does not have much ease. My body shape from the back side does not want or need much of a peplum so this jacket style is attractive to me.

Burda 2006/08 #128 Line Drawing

The Burda pattern has no interfacing nor lining instructions or pieces so I zipped along on my prior experience and research in jacket making, fusing in my favorite weft interfacing (Pro-Weft Supreme Medium Weight) on all pieces and adding Fashion Sewing Supply’s old fusible tailors canvas on top of that in the peplum, fronts, across the back shoulders, lapels and collar stand. I look forward to trying out the new 68″ wide version that is pre-steamed

Yes, the owner is a dear friend but I am endorsing her products because they are the best I’ve ever used. And, no, she is not paying me to say sing these high praises :)

I am also taping the edges and roll line with straight fusible tape but haven’t finished that part as of this writing (you’ll see why if you read all the way down this post).

Back Shoulder Stay and Tape

Armscye canvas applied

Armscyle canvas

I sewed up the under collar dart in the front facing. In my classic sample the dart is on the front, not in the front facing, like it is in the Burda pattern:

Dart sewn in under collar
Classically Stitched Dart

Should that have been my first clue? Maybe! But I skimmed along, hoping that one day I would be through with all the fusing, my least favorite part of jacket making.

Dart Sewn

I took apart and used the hand stitched sample jacket I made in 2009 when attending Claire Shaeffer’s Couture Tailoring workshop as a reminder of how things should be done.

Hand Stitched front interior
Hand Stitched Front

Hand padded lapel
Hand Stitched Lapel

Roll line is drawn up one half inch for my DD sized front. This stay is also called a “Bridle”

Roll Line Drawn up Half inch

I moved most of the fullness of the roll line to the bust area of the front facing and the fusing went well. Yes, all that fullness eased in just beautifully!

Roll Line

and put in a perfect roll for the lapel!

Wrong Way Roll!

What? Wait!!! It’s rolling the Wrong Way! So I have to soften the fusing and roll it the other way. Eeesch. Fortunately I am using a premium product and rectification is possible so I steamed and pressed over my store bought roll. I still can’t find my ham. Moving from an 1100 square foot house into a room that’s 10 x12 foot is really tricky! Anyway here’s the two front facings meeting their rectification:

Rectification

and This is the collar detail:

Collar

Do you see that there is no “Gorge Line?” The gorge line is where the collar and lapel meet and are sewn into one unit.

42 (Enlarged)_e

But this detail is missing: the collar is not sewn to the lapel but lies separately. Do you see it???

Yup. That’s a detail I really liked for my plain woven stretch wool fabric and late last night I finally turned to the Burda instructions and found that that collar is sewn into the dart.

Ah ha! Ok, back to the seam ripper. I hope I’ll have a completed jacket to show you in the near future, the good Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. That is a fantastic pattern, one I wish I had in my collection but don’t. I can’t wait to see your finished version.

    Reply
  2. Very nice jacket – and I have this Burda! – but I am not going to trace the pattern – not yet at least.

    Reply
  3. wow I am just learning these techniques and here you are doing them without instructions! This looks like it is going to be beautiful! Are you going to make the skirt as well? I think that “set” is prettier than anything I’ve seen in Burda in awhile! sewingforme.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Ah, thanks for the link to your other blog site. You’re really studying right along. I love that big boyfriend jacket you’ve just posted! O-o-o-o And a class at Waechter’s with Cynthia Guffey? Heaven!

      Reply
  4. I’m excited to see you make this jacket because I’ve made it twice. One version was in white cotton twill that I wore as a jean jacket for years and have finally outgrown. :-( It seemed to me that there was an awful lot of ease on the front of the sleeve cap, but always figured that had to be my error. Looking forward to your sleeves and seeing the finished piece.

    Reply
    • Robyn! We really should be neighbors. I have struggled with these sleeves For.Ever! I am not a sleeve expert but these things are/were humongous Should have pictures and text up in the next couple of days.

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

