RSS Feed

Slow Gardening

Posted on

10 days of cold weather and way too much rain have made working the soil impossible. I had to tear up my beautifully laid out garden to put in a drainage ditch

Drainage trenches

It didn’t save some of the tomato plants I’d bought. I didn’t start my own seeds indoors this year. RIP goodly tomatoes!

RIP drowned tomatoes

But today it’s over 70 and I pulled the last of the carrots. They’ve been in the ground way too long.

Last Carrots

I am not happy with this year’s crop of carrots. They were too small in winter and now that they reached size they have started to grow a hard core. So much for Nantes Coreless carrots packed in the Ferry Morse Planting Strips. They are rather disappointing. I’ll go back to hand planting my old way and not try to winter over the crop.

I have more tomato plants and some green and hot peppers to put in but will have to wait until the soil dries out more.

I planted Diva cucumber seeds today and dug and transplanted the Zeyphr squash plant seedlings that I started in April. The peas and sugar snap peas seemed to have survived well but I don’t know how the garlic will react to this soggy land. Most of the lettuce seed washed away and will have to be replanted.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. Valerie Lazell

    I would consider raised beds

    Reply
    • Raised beds make sense this year, that’s for sure, Valerie. It’s highly likely that the need for them has passed already, but one never knows what weather will bring.

      Reply
  2. Raised beds do make sense in really wet weather. What breed of tomatoes do you prefer? I tried starting from seeds for the first time this year and my start was too late. I love Brandy Wines, but they aren’t the most prolific or the quickest. I have one Champion plant, yo can’t go wrong with such a heavy harvester.
    Good luck with the cucumbers, I have never gotten them to grow successfully. Last year, i think I got 3 bitty cucumbers…

    Reply
    • Valerie Lazell

      as i live in north europe ,the variety’s of tomatoe’s are different but last year i tried a small itailian tom. it was proflic and tasted super ,i use raised beds for no digging and control of pests and it’s easy to cover for warmeth etc,but some crops need and get open ground from me…plus getting older raised beds are easier on the back

      Reply
    • I have tried so many different tomatoes over the years and love them all if I treat them right but I find myself picking Cherokee Purple or Cherokee Red year after year. I used to favor Arkansas Traveler when I lived up on the mountain. I like the wild, survivalist attitude of these plants, I guess. But I did find that the Mountain series of tomatoes to be more disease resistant with firm flesh and staying power after picking. They are smaller with fewer seeds, too.

      Down here in this old cow pasture disease is more of a problem. But I try them all! Last year the heirloom Martha Washington did a good job, very prolific and tasty but not as resistant to the environmental hazards like bugs and fungus. Mr Stripey was huge! and had more fungus resistance than Martha. The Russian Krim did so poorly, it was almost mushy and quickly overcome with fungus. I won’t bother with that one again, not in the back yard. The front yard is a whole different climate though, not near the creek and very hot.

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

