RSS Feed

Surviving the Prune

Posted on

The landscape is doing fine in spite of my not being able to say I am a Master Pruner (nor Gardener). Proof:

Blooms after Prune

The Mountain Laurels were moved to a nice cool shady location and set out tons of buds. This is April 15

Mountain Laurels

This is May 14

Happy Mountain Laurel

Now they are blossoming

Mountain Laurels
Happy Mountain Laurels

The Cinco de Mayo shrub roses, which were heavily pruned on April 14

Shrub Roses

Are growing tall,
Cinco de Mayo Roses

budding out and starting to bloom

Cinco de Mayo

The Coral Drift roses are blooming too

Coral Drift

as are the Wing Dings

Wing Dings

The lavender is getting ready to burst forth and bless us

Lavender

as are the cherries, well, actually the cherries will bless the birds. We never get any

Cherries

Montmorency cherries

Almost Ripe Montmorency

Earlier the azaleas were all in full glory.

Azaleas on the Side

This one has been moved 2 times in order to find the right spot for it. It likes being under the holly tree
White Azaleas

This peony has survived in cool shade where the original gardener planted it over 13 years ago but it really needs to move to the sunlight

Peony

Maybe that will be done next year.

I haven’t managed to kill off this Malva even though I’ve tried for 3 years now.

100_3292
Hello!

I finally found some Evening Primrose to plant in a hot but semi shaded and dry location

New Evening Primrose

its got a pretty flower and a faint delicate scent

Primrose Blossoms

Time for a nap 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. i love your garden, specially the cherries and the roses.

    Reply
  2. How gorgeous! Such beautiful colors! I have a hard time pruning enough, you seem to have the perfect touch.
    I’m totally jealous of the cherries. My sister tried to grow some in Illinois, but the tree got too much rain, or not enough and it caught some kind of fungus.
    I love the beautiful sunny day.

    Reply
  3. The peony is lovely. As is your garden. xo

    Reply
  4. Love the mountain laurels! The flowers on them are gorgeous. I put one in a few years ago that just never did anything so I finally removed it.

    Trust me the malva is almost impossible to kill. I had some that has since been dug out because it started taking over the entire bed. Three years later it’s still trying to come up everywhere!

    Reply
  5. I wouldn’t have thought you could grow Evening Primrose in your zone. When it gets leggy and ugly, you can give it a hair cut, back to 3-4 inches, and it will come back nicely … well, that’s what it does in USDA zone 9, Sunset 14.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

