RSS Feed

Why Plants and Not Sewing?

Posted on

Two reasons: It’s a special time of the year for plants in TN. Here’s one of my favorites: TN State Tree, the Tulip Tree in bloom:

State Tree: Tulip Tree Blossom

There are more gorgeous TN countryside photos in the Tennessee Beauty set on Flickr from last night’s attempt to understand my easy-shoot camera’s newest failings. The photos, while not the sharpest are still beautiful. http://www.flickr.com/photos/77314006@N00/sets/72157633786227858/

I even found some of my Evening Primrose, Pink Ladies, as they are called around here, growing along the side of the road, Escape Artists from someone’s garden. TN has a number of Onenothera that are considered native
Pink Ladies growing on the roadside

and two: I am not sewing at the moment because I have enough Springtime clothes for my lifestyle already. Most of what I wear is made by me and apparently I’ve been busy for the last number of years.

I also had lost a lot of weight in the past few years and now have gained it all back so I have clothes that fit whatever size I am currently needing. Thank goodness, though, that I have regained the weight. I can finally eat almost everything that I like and I have absolutely NO BUTT when I lose weight. My dear friend Lorna Newman said when she saw a pix of my baggy behind: Wow! I don’t think there’s an alteration that can fix THAT. And another friend suggested the Frederick’s of Hollywood catalog type of padded fanny panties. Hehehehehehe. Well, now I don’t have that kind of worry. At the moment, anyway.

But the temperatures are going into the high 80’s today and it’s time to look at cool cotton and linen and easy-care styles. I need to make gowns for lounging in the evenings and sensible, loose dresses for the daytime. Think Muu Muu without the Moo. I don’t want to look early 60’s Florida retiree.

This has been my favorite go-to (reviewed on The Sewing Divas blog) the last few days:

full

It was made in 2009. Time for some new linen, I’d say.

Patterns? Now that’s the hard part. I just don’t know what patterns I’ll use.

Well, the air conditioning just kicked on and it’s set for 76. I’d better hit the sewing room.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. Those tulip trees are outrageous! You look ready for a lemonade and a lovely game of croquet on the lawn.

    Reply
  2. Oh we can only dream of such warmth in the UK. We’re still in winter willies and temperatures in the 50s Fahrenheit that is! You look lovely in that dress, very Scarlett O’hara. The plants are lovely too, and especially photos including sunshine, in short supply with us.

    Reply
  3. Oh woe, spellchecker at it’s rudest, sorry about that. I said WOOLLIES.

    Reply
  4. I am totally in awe of your green thumb, I would probably not be sewing either. It looks like everything you touch blooms in glorious color.

    Reply
  5. MB, I enjoyed seeing your local flora. Interesting here in the So. Bay Area, we have many tulip trees, in fact one street near me has them lining the street and in the fall, their leaves turn the brightest yellow ever….just stunning!.
    Being from the midwest and missing the honeysuckle I planted some in a corner fence area ……..was that a mistake! In our long growing season it seemed to take over the world, so I pulled all of it out.
    Enjoy your lovely springtime!

    Reply
  6. Learn something new every day, I didn’t know that the Evening Primrose was native to TN. Because they are so drought tolerant, I was sure they were a desert flower.

    Reply
  7. Hallo Mary Beth,
    very often I visite you blog and by delighted to your work, in particular the sewing. Today I saw the Tulip Tree. In my country weekend cottage the is a great tree. Every year we celebrate the blossom with a big celebration. Its wonderful.
    In the moment I consider what dress I’ll sew for the next celebration.
    Have a nice day
    Mema

    Reply
  8. The Tulip tree is beautiful! You have some gorgeous flowers.
    It must be such a treat to walk around the yard 🙂

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

