RSS Feed

End of June Garden

Posted on

The first tomato to show color is a Better Boy.

First Tomato

The Roma III paste tomatoes are covered with green tomatoes but none have gotten any color yet.

The corn plot is tilled and waiting for the corn seed

Waiting for the corn seed

I like to plant Peaches and Cream corn, a se (sugar enhanced) bi-color hybrid and couldn’t find it locally (shocked, I tell ya) so I had to mail order it. Two years ago I tried Sugar Dots corn but it was small and not as tasty as I wanted

Sugar Dots Corn

Last year 2012 I planted around the first of May and by the 15th I had maybe 30% germination of the corn seeds. Livingston Seeds Company really let me down.

May 15 Sprouts

I mixed cucumbers, squash and beans in with the corn.

Hills and ditches

So I bought more Peaches and Cream seeds (only offered locally by Livingston Seeds) and replanted. But I noticed that many of the original sprouts were stunted and puny.

Puny sprout 2012

Most of the corn sprouts planted in May and early June died.

Squash, Cucumbers & 3 Different Plantings of Corn

After only a few plants coming up I found the same type of seed from a different company and eventually we had a proper corn plot. The photo below is what the corn plot looked like on July 15. It took 3 plantings!

July 20, Corn is tasseling over the squash

This year I will only plant beans among the corn. Bush beans will put nitrogen into the soil. Corn loves nitrogen! If only the seeds will get here soon!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

12 responses »

  1. Corn is one of the “three sisters” that were planted by native peoples – corn, squash and beans were planted together (if memory serves)…

    Reply
    • That’s what I’ve learned, too, Lorna. The squash shades the small corn plants from the blazing sun and the beans enrich the soil and can theoretically use the corn plants to climb. I say “theoretically” because my first planting of pole beans with corn resulted in the pole beans pulling the corn down, esp after bad weather. Another consideration for the 3 Sisters is the effort involved in carrying water to the garden site.

      Reply
  2. Yum yum yum. I’m a huge fan of home grown veggies, but live in the cold, foggy city with a postage stamp yard, so I have to either buy or rely on my friends who overplant. Your garden is beautiful!

    Reply
  3. I love your garden. Its so encouraging, mine is really done for the summer. Sorry to hear about your corn frustrations, it looks like you may be able to salvage the crop.
    Can I ask you why you plant in the strange formation that you plant? I understand planting the different crops together, and why you would want access from both sides, but why not in straight rows. Other than it looks so darn cool!

    Reply
    • Becki: the story about the 3 plantings of corn relates what happened last year and why one should be wary of Livingston Seed Company. I am still waiting for the corn seed for this year’s crop to arrive via mail order, due to the fact that locally only Livingston Seed (it’s the cheapest seed offered wholesale) is being sold retail and my choice of seed, Peaches and Cream, is not being offered. I’d say, given the popularity of Peaches and Cream for the home grower, that retail is not able to get this seed at a price they want to pay. Internet ordering is probably taking the market away from the local sellers.

      The semi-circles are a modification of the corn spiral, a southwestern native American style of planting that helped save on water, the work involved in doing the watering, and it increases the efficiency of pollination via the wind. Pour water at one end of the spiral and it travels throughout the whole planting.

      If corn is planted in rows it is likely that the ends of the rows will be less privy to the luscious pollen on the wind. Pollen from the tassels of other corn plants is necessary for the ears to form. When you drive by a commercial field you can see the shorter stalks at the ends of the rows.

      Reply
  4. What a wonderful garden!

    Reply
  5. How lovely to see these photos. This year I am growing some vegetables for the first time in my (very) small garden. Such fun, though it would be nice to have more space.

    Reply
  6. Wonderful post…I like your blog.^^
    Maybe follow each other on bloglovin?
    Let me know follow you then back.
    Lovely greets Nessa

    Reply
  7. Your garden is pretty. I was wondering about the corn, then realized that in spite of the unusual row shape, it is still in a block. Although, my retired farmer dad would be raising an eyebrow about the grass between the rows :-) . I’m glad he doesn’t see my garden on a regular basis, he’d be giving me all sorts of advice. I only got tomatoes, potatoes, peppers and okra planted this year, no corn, no beans, nothing else. Between the weather being cold/wet and getting ready for DS graduation party, the planting garden was not a priority this year.

    Reply
    • Be Free! Let go of corn and beans! Congrats on having a graduate in the family!!!!

      Odd thing: my city raised husband likes the grass so much he mows it himself. He doesn’t have time to do much around the house but this, he does. He prefers it to having to mulch or having mud and he has a point. I do pull a lot of grass tho.

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

