RSS Feed

Daily Archives: March 5, 2006

Claire McCardell

Posted on

I have been snooping around on Heather Claus’ websites:  SewItSewIt.com, SewZine.com, MySewingClasses.com, and MyEPatternSite.com.  So many of the questions posted at PatternReview.com would be answered by subscribing to our sewing sister, Heather’s, offerings.  She’s done a lot of work and hung in long enough to grow and continue to grow.  You all may remember the beautiful vintage she brought to the back page of Threads and her column on details.  She’s a real, natural born educator and dedicated sewist.

Heather has started a forum on her SeeItSewIt.com with a great message/discussion board and lately Claire McCardell has been a thread of interest, thus my ripped off link and photo.

However, my purpose here is to connect  my ripoff of the day with TheSewingDivas. Please take a long and loving look at this dress.   Claire McCardell Dress at AntiqueDress.com (remember to hit “back” on your browser or you’ll close this blog page) 

After drooling over the beauty and the style of the  jersey, read the bio at the bottom.  Our Georgene now is the designer for the predecessor of Claire’s employer-at-one-time, Hattie Carnegie .

That’s right, Georgene is now the big cheese.

That’s all I believe I’m allowed to say, or they’ll have to kill me.