RSS Feed

Update on the Hulk

Posted on

Sorry, no  photo today either.  My employee has had his come-uppence in the form of my husband warning him that he can’t yell at me.  No write up, nothing beyond yet another verbal warning.  In the 6 years with us this man has one write up in his folder: after screaming at me and cursing about another employee on the shop floor, causing me to leave the building for the day, and after hours of meetings concerning his verbal abuse of other employees and his temper, he was asked to sign a one-liner, “I will try to control my temper”. 

So after the verbal warnings from husband, we had to hit the road to sell and while we were gone, this man, our “shop safety” leader and the sanding supervisor, left work early on Friday, a behavior he ahs been told is not acceptable as it had become a tradition for him to leave early every Friday.

When confronted, in a very non-confrontation manner by my husband who doesn’t share my point blank mode of interrogation (we will get the info from you LOL), Hulk informed my husband that he had an interview for another job.

The workforce is (very very quietly) saying “Yeah!” except for my husband because there is no one to take his place.  We will be interviewing this week.  But it all falls on DH and he is very overworked (and grumpy).

BTW I also have reason to believe that Hulk may be involved in verbal sexual harrassment against at least one member of a lesbian couple who work for HWP.  Here’s the law: 

An organization is liable for the behavior of an employee if it knows–or should know based on experience–of improper conduct and fails to take immediate corrective action.
 
The lady employee has asked a supervisor what constitutes sexual harrassment and the question was brought anonymously to me.  My reply to the supervisor is that it is anything that makes the hearer uncomfortable and seems inappropriate for the workplace.  She only need to tell the speaker (or doer) to stop because it makes her uncomfortable.  I have written this up (with no names because the names were not made known to me) and have heard nothing more.  But, baby, I’m ready.
 
The last male supervisor who made sexual comments to a female employee was ordered into counseling (paid for by the company) and the choice for counseling was given to the female, who accepted the offer.  Hulk will be his own demise.  Or he will “straighten up and fly right”.
 
Yes, I do believe in miracles.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I know how hard it is to find good help but I’m sure you are breathing a big sigh of relief!

    Reply
  2. Dito the comment made by Gigi.
    Hang in MB you will find the best employee ever to for fill the job of the Hulk.

    Reply
  3. There is a reason for everything, even if it’s not revealed to you at the time.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?